NOVEMBER’S FEATURED AUTHOR: Russ Linton.

Authors

russ-1

1) Your Journey as an Author…..In the fourth grade, I wrote down the vague goal of becoming a “writer and an artist” when I grew up. When I finally embarked on that journey it led me from philosopher to graphic designer to stay at home parent, and even a stint with the FBI. It wasn’t until after all that, I finally got around to the “writing” part. That journey has shaped and informed what I write and what I read. My style is an eclectic mix: fantasy and science fiction with a dose of realism tempered by a quasi-literary style. I write for adults who are young at heart and youngsters who are old souls. I write about the struggles of life and try to impart a touch of magic to them. I am a guide on this journey and hope to invite as many people as possible along the way.

2) What reading means to you…..Like many writers, I was an early bloomer when it came to reading skills. As a child my mom made reading to myself and twin sister a priority along with ensuring frequent trips to the public library. I recall many of those early readers, from the whimsy of Seuss to the poetry of Silverstein. But the first chapter book I ever read that left a lasting impression was C.S. Lewis’ The Magician’s Nephew. I didn’t realize how deeply that story affected me until on this full time writing journey, I sat down to re-read it. I’m not an overly emotional person, but I was moved to tears when I read the description of the Wood Between the Worlds after so many years. The thing that got me was when the children surface and you realize that they came from a single pool and the wood is filled with pools and the possibilities are endless. That’s at the heart of what reading means to me and why I want to open up those other worlds as a writer.

3) Whats next for you…..More books. I’m in the final stages for book three of my Stormblade Saga, a tale about a bugman monk raised by humans who struggles to find his place in the world. I’m also working on the second novel in my Crimson Son Universe. Spencer, the powerless son of the world’s toughest superhero is back. Events which he helped bring about have reshaped the world of Augments and he and Eric face a super-villain they’re not sure is truly their enemy. Once I’ve gotten those words out, I’m excited about the prospect of diving into another one of those pools. I have to avoid thinking about it for now because I might jump too soon and leave the rest of them behind.

4 thoughts on “NOVEMBER’S FEATURED AUTHOR: Russ Linton.

Leave a Reply

