JANUARY’S FEATURED AUTHOR: Calvin Dean

Authors

calvindean

1) Your Journey as an Author…..My journey started in high school. When I was a freshman, my English teacher asked each student to write a short story. I wrote a Twilight Zone-esqe story entitled The Epitaph of Jonas Barloff. At about this same time, I began working at a radio station where I wrote advertising copy. By age 18, I won a State Wide Award for a 30-second radio ad. So I’ve been writing short pieces for a long time. About eight years ago, I decided to write a novel. I took the basic premise from the “Epitaph” short story. Five years later—yes, count them—five long years later, I had a novel. I learned so much from that process that I wrote my second book, A Door Unlocked, in four months. I just released a third book, Curses, and now I’m shopping my fourth book, Geriatric Delinquents, to publishers. Stay tuned on that one. I’m really excited about it.

2) What reading means to you…..To many, reading is a social awakening, a learning and growing experience. And while this is true for me too, more than that, reading is simply a pleasure, an escape. I don’t require that an author lead me down the path of knowledge, though if he or she does, that’s great. All I require is that the author takes me on an incredible journey. Tell me an entertaining story. It can be weird, frightening, funny, happy, suspenseful, whatever. I just want to be entertained. That’s why I read. That’s how I try to write.

3) Whats next for you…..That depends on how the public receives Curses and Geriatric Delinquents. I really like the characters in both books. Here’s the strange part, in Curses, my protagonist took the novel in a completely different direction from what I originally planned. I intended to write a typical, old-fashioned ghost story. And while the book contains some freaky scenes, Martin steered me in a humorous direction. I explain this in the acknowledgements section of the book … how he practically conked me on the head and took over the keyboard. In my fourth book, yet to be released, I went completely off the reservation. All of my work so far has dealt with the paranormal. Not so with Geriatric Delinquents. This is a contemporary southern satire. (I’m from Mississippi in the southeastern USA, so I’m eat-up with it). It’s about two sisters who oppose a proposition to legalize marijuana in their small town. To their chagrin, their aging rock star brother returns home to support the measure. Imagine Dolly Parton as the older sister and Goldie Hawn as the younger sister. Then imagine someone like Mick Jagger as the brother. As you might expect, all parties are butting heads and pulling in opposite directions until the day of the election. There’s plenty of conflict, and therefore, plenty of humor. I really like this story and hope to follow up with more.

One thought on “JANUARY’S FEATURED AUTHOR: Calvin Dean

Leave a Reply

