APRIL’S FEATURED AUTHOR: S.P. OLDHAM

Authors

Image21.jpg

1) Your Journey as an Author…..It might sound something of a cliché but I have genuinely written stories and poetry of my own volition since my very early childhood, my first poem being published in a local magazine some time later when I was twelve. For many years writing was a private pleasure, something I shared with very few people outside of my family and closest friends. About fifteen years or so ago I joined an online writing site, which helped in building my confidence and honing my skills tremendously; learning from other writers can be a valuable tool. I began having work accepted in various anthologies, in e-zines, magazines, greetings cards and so on. I also had a story professionally read and broadcast on Rutland Radio’s ‘Sunday Night Story.’ Finally, a little over a year ago, having had no luck with conventional publishing routes, I decided to try self-publishing. I have learned a great deal in the time since and whilst I still have a long way to go, at least now I feel I have a chance at success and at finding readers who might enjoy my writing style and what I have to offer.

2) What reading means to you…..Reading is one of my lifelong passions. It is hard to fully describe what it means to me. On one level, it is something for which I will be eternally grateful to my parents for. Both were avid readers and so thanks to them I grew up in a house where there were always books around and where reading was actively encouraged. I used to go to bed feeling lucky if I was allowed to keep the light on for half an hour to read! I can still clearly recall the cover images of some of my favourite childhood books. The recollection always fills me with nostalgia. As an adult, reading is an escape, an education, often a revelation. I have learned so very much about such a wide variety of subjects, especially those that have always held an interest for me, such as history. I have experienced the delicious anticipation of getting all the jobs done so I can curl up with my book. I have fallen asleep countless times with a book on my face! Reading is a reward, a comfort, a reassurance and a privilege, to me.

3) Whats next for you…..My personal health circumstances may well dictate the next phase of my working life, something over which I may not have much control. No matter what, I hope I will always read for the sheer pleasure of it. As far as writing goes, it is as fundamental to me as breathing; a compulsion almost. Whether or not I ‘make it,’ in the orthodox sense, as a writer, will have no bearing upon my work in the end. I will write nonetheless because it is part of who I am and what I do. As for my books, I have just begun a Victorian Romance with something of a difference, and I have plans for another horror/speculative fiction work for later in the year or perhaps early next year. Of course, every writer out there hopes to be read and enjoyed and I am no different. I recently penned a phrase ‘Write like the whole world is reading,’ and that is just what I intend to do.

Leave a Reply

