JULY’S FEATURED AUTHOR: ERRIN STEVENS

Authors

up- eirrin

1) Your Journey as an Author…..I always pictured myself as a writer, even when I was very young. I read fiction then and now like I breathe, which is to say constantly; and it was more than just a pastime, has always felt more visceral and necessary to me than that. I think incessant reading wired me up strangely, too, meaning I constructed a kind of narrative filter through which I apprehend life’s experiences. And view reality. I’m always working on how I would express in words what I see happening around me. But I didn’t give myself permission to take a serious run at storytelling until five years ago. I think I was able to write Updrift because I loved the premise, and because the genre felt approachable to me.

2) What reading means to you…..I read fiction as a child (and now, too!) like it’s an autonomic neurological function; and it was more than just a pastime, has always felt visceral and necessary to me. I know for a fact incessant reading wired me up strangely, meaning I constructed a kind of narrative filter through which I apprehend life’s experiences. And view reality. I’m always working on how I would express in words what I see happening around me. What I’m reading can often affect my writing voice, as well. Sometimes I reread works I admire just to have that particular writing taste in my mouth when I do a final edit.

3) Whats next for you…..I’m working like crazy on number three, Outrush. The story focuses on Maya and Aiden, sets up the possibility for a fourth book (featuring Peter and Xanthe), and is a good bit of both romance and suspense. I can’t wait to share my pretty, pretty cover (and my story, of course!) with all of you, which I’ve been hanging onto from the outset, since I had the first three in my series designed together.

Leave a Reply

